Jacopo Pontormo

Naissance: 24 mai 1494 - 2 janvier 1557 Emplacement: Salle de Raphaël et Andrea del SartoSalle de Pontormo et Rosso Fiorentino

Jacopo da Pontormo fut un artiste très influent à l'époque de la "manière moderne"  du XVIe siècle et un précurseur de l'art baroque du XVIIe siècle. Il se forma auprès de grands maîtres florentins de son époque, tels que Léonard de Vinci (1452-1519), Mariotto Albertinelli (1474-1515), Piero di Cosimo (1462-1522) et surtout Andrea del Sarto (1486-1531). Parmi ses élèves, à signaler Bronzino (1503-1572), un des peintres les plus illustres du XVIe siècle.

La multiplicité d'expériences artistiques qui ont caractérisées sa jeunesse lui ont permis d'acquérir un style tout à fait personnel, qui fit de Pontormo un des créateurs de la "manière moderne", au cours de la première moitié du XVIe siècle. À Florence, il réalisa des œuvres pour la famille Médicis, en manifestant très tôt un talent rare. Parmi les peintures de sa première période, à signaler le Portrait de Cosme l'Ancien (1389-1464), qui se trouve aux Offices et Léda et le cygne, qui montre bien l'influence de Léonard de Vinci. Il faut quand même préciser que cette peinture a été attribuée aussi à Andrea del Sarto ou à Perin del Vaga (1501-1547).

Une fresque, très connue, commandée par les Médicis, est Vertumno et Pomone, dans la Villa de Poggio à Caiano. Les peintures à fresque de cette villa constituent des témoignages intéressants de l'art florentin au cours de trois générations: Andrea del Sarto, qui les commença, son disciple Pontormo qui les continua et  Alessandro Allori (1535-1607), fils adoptif de Bronzino, qui les termina. Dans les églises florentines on rencontre plusieurs de ses œuvres de caractère réligieux, entre autres, la célèbre  Déposition de la croix et l' Annonciation de l'église Santa Felicita. Dans les dix dernières années de sa vie, il se consacra presque entièrement à la réalisation des fresques de la chapelle majeure de l'église Saint Laurent à Florence, mais de ces peintures il ne nous reste que quelques dessins préparatoires.

On connait sa vie grâce à la biographie détaillée de Giorgio Vasari (1511-1574), et grâce aussi à un journal écrit par Pontormo même. D'apres les pages de ce journal et de Giorgio Vasari il en ressort un artiste mélancolique, dont l'œuvre est la manifestation d'un génie passionné et d'un expérimentateur comme on peut bien voir  dans la composition insolite et les couleurs innaturelles de la Déposition de Santa Felicita ou de la Visitation de Carmignano. 

 

Voulez-vous voir des oeuvres de cet artiste?

Réservez en ligne une visite

Fatal error: Uncaught Error: Call to undefined function mysql_close() in /var/www/virtualuffizi/index.php:193 Stack trace: #0 {main} thrown in /var/www/virtualuffizi/index.php on line 193

Jacopo Pontormo

Born: May 24, 1494  - Death: January 2, 1557    Located in: The Raphael and Andrea del Sarto Room  The Pontormo and Rosso Fiorentino Room  

Jacopo Carucci (sometimes spelled Carrucci) and called Pontormo, was an influential artist in the 16th century style of Mannerism and also as a precursor to the later Baroque period. His training, though sometimes brief, gave him a sweeping influence of the time, including teachers such as Leonardo da Vinci (1452 – 1519), Mariotto Albertinelli (1474 – 1515), Piero di Cosimo (1462 – 1522) and prominently with Andrea del Sarto (1486 – 1531). His work became an important influence on his prominent pupil, Il Bronzino (1503 – 1572).

This breadth of influence formulated in Pontormo as a highly individual style, which helped define the development of early Mannerism, which would dominate the 16th century. His patrons in Florence where the Medici Family, giving even his early work a prevalent influence. An early portrait by Pontormo, Portrait of Cosimo the Elder, is of the Medici Ruler, Cosimo de’ Medici (1389 – 1464), now at the Uffizi Gallery. One of his earliest works, Leda and the Swan, influenced by da Vinci’s own depiction of Leda, also hangs in the Uffizi. Though, the piece is still sometimes argued to be a work of Sarto or possibly Perin del Vaga (1501 – 1547).

Of his other works now in the Uffizi are Portrait of a Woman with Splindes (1514), Portrait of a Musician (1518), Saint Anthony Abbot (1518), Madonna and Child with Saints (1520), Supper at Emmans (1525), Birth of Saint John (1526), Madonna and Child with the Young Saint John (1528), Martyrdom of Saint Maurice and the Theban Legion (1529) and another Medici portrait, Portrait of Maria Salviati, mother of Cosimo I.

Pontormo’s other well know commission from the Medici family was his masterful frescos in their Poggio a Caiano Villa in Prato, depicting Vertumnus and Pomona. The work is an interesting historical lineage of Florentine art; the work begun by Pontormo’s teacher Sarto, continued by the artist himself and then completed by Alessandro Allori (1535 – 1607), who was trained by Pontormo’s pupil Il Bronzino. There were also several well known religious works throughout Florence’s churches by Pontormo, including his Deposition from the Cross and his Annunciation. Pontormo’s last works were also a Medici commission for the Choir frescos in their chapel in the Basilica of San Lorenzo in Florence. His only surviving works from this commission are his preparatory drawings.

Additional to a detailed biography in Giorgio Vasari’s (1511 – 1574) The Lives of the Artists, Pontormo kept a diary in his last years. He is described as a melancholy artist, whose work reflected both passionate genius and unusual experimentation. This is embodied by his strong compositional skill, contrasted by his often contoured, Mannerist figures; the shinning example being his Deposition from the Cross.

Want to see this artist's artworks?

Book now a visit